Doing my homework for the new school year

I am so happy I made time to volunteer for Mike’s school’s book sale. I became my younger tenacious self and took advantage who was standing before me.

After my son’s class left the book sale, two other classes rolled in. So here were opportunities I do not have in the time of locked down schools. I approached two teachers- a third-grade teacher and a fourth-grade teacher- about my son’s situation of academic readiness and lack of maturity.

Both teachers told me that they really could not tell the difference between the students who are younger from the ones who are older. They naturally told me to consider Mike’s teacher’s recommendation.

The fourth grade teacher was the most enthusiastic and open-minded. She said to see how Mike matures over the summer and that students can mature a lot in just one month.

Then, Mike’s gym/health teacher came in to pick up papers. I also drilled her about how Mike compares to his peers. Mike is behind in gross motor skills but otherwise he blends in  with his peers in maturity and academically.

I have one more opportunity to get input from a teacher before school starts in August. Mike is attending a summer reading program in July so that teacher will get my questions about Mike’s maturity and where he will be better placed in the fall.

I know many people will tell me to let my son mature another year in the program the school district has created for students who are not ready for first grade. But what if my son matures over the summer? I want to give Mike every chance to move on with peers of his kindergarten class.

If I place him in first grade and it doesn’t work out well in the beginning, I will pull him out and put him in the remedial program. I am not going to watch my son struggle and fall behind just so he follows the pack.

I am brave enough to consider first grade for my summer birthday boy because he reads well and works hard while not getting frustrated with school. Once a child gets frustrated, school is no longer fun and becomes a struggle. Mike loves to learn and he still wants to work every night with me on reading, writing and math.

How many 5-year-olds beg for educational activities at bedtime? If this doesn’t show Mike’s maturity for learning, I don’t know what else it says about Mike.

This entry was posted in My Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

