Nervous about parent-teacher conference

I was feeling good about Mike’s parent-teacher conference scheduled for Tuesday until I saw his newly posted grades on Friday afternoon.

His math grade tumbled to a terrible low of 65 and his reading/writing grade increased one point to 82. Then, more grades were posted on Sunday night. His math grade dropped to 64.

Thankfully, his reading/writing grade has bounced up a little to 79 this morning after dropping to 77 overnight.

The final grades for the term will be posted on Nov. 11 and I am getting nervous about that date.

I was pretty calm about the parent-teacher conference after I talked to Mike’s teacher during the class “Harvest” party. Heaven forbid, a Halloween party be called what it really is.

The teacher said Mike was doing better and I had nothing to be concerned about the conference. She knew Mike got a zero on a math pattern test when she said that so I don’t get how she determines when students’ performance should become concerns.

Mike did get full credit for a positions test. That same test a month ago Mike received an 80 so this is good news. But I am seeing Mike gets 50s and 60s a lot on his math classwork and tests.

I am thrilled that Mike got a 100 and 90 on two writing activities to give his reading/writing grade a 2-point boost. I’ll take any increase right now.

Thankfully, Mike’s science grade is sitting pretty at 100 and the social studies grade is still a 93.

Meanwhile, I am working hard at bedtime to get Mike back where he should be in his class. Kindergarten is really work for parents and students these days.

This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

