Oh, the joys of sending a summer boy to kindergarten

I really did not think five years ago that my baby Mike would be in kindergarten today. I was told sending a boy born in the summer to kindergarten at age 5 would spell disaster.

But the years went by and so many events resulted in sending Mike to kindergarten. I’ve seen the posts in forums on the “summer boy problem.” So many comments can be placed in the  themes of “Don’t do it! You’ll regret it!” and “Are you crazy? This isn’t the kindergarten you remembered!”

My boy is starting his third week of full-day kindergarten and he hasn’t fallen behind yet. I know kindergarten will get harder as the school year goes on but I believe I have done everything possible to prove summer boys can succeed if given a chance.

Mike is not your typical boy. He was born a month early in late August. He wouldn’t play with other kids or talk to anyone in his 2-year-old preschool. Mike got a little better in his 3-year-old preschool.

So, why would I send my kid to kindergarten at age 5? Well, stick around and you will see why. I promise it will be an interesting story.

This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

